Three directors reappointed to the National Portrait Gallery

Marcus Harling

Reappointed for a 4-year term beginning November 1, 2022.

Marcus Harling brings extensive experience in sourcing and delivering development projects of all types. As a solicitor, Marcus has advised clients such as The Crown Estate, The UK Atomic Energy Authority and The Greater London Authority on the delivery of development and infrastructure projects.

Marcus is a non-executive board member of the Norman Shaw North Project, Palace of Westminster, a partner in the law firm Burges Salmon and provides advice to public and private sector organizations on construction, infrastructure and of regeneration. With experience advising on arts and heritage projects, Marcus has played an active role in supporting the current redevelopment of the National Portrait Gallery.

Marcus is a member of the Audit and Risk Sub-Committee of the National Portrait Gallery and of the Board of the Inspiring People Project.

Professor Shearer West

Reappointed for a 4-year term beginning November 1, 2022.

Professor Shearer West, CBE is Vice-Chancellor and President of the University of Nottingham.

She has held a number of important leadership positions in higher education, including Director of the School of Historical Studies at the University of Birmingham, Director of the Humanities Division at the University of Oxford and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sheffield. She was also Director of Research at the Arts and Humanities Research Council, where she chaired the group of Research Directors for the UK Research Councils (now UKRI).

She is a professor of art history and has authored and edited numerous articles and nine books, including Portraiture; The visual arts in Germany 1897-1940; and Fin de Siècle: Art and Society in an Age of Uncertainty. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, the Higher Education Academy and the Royal Historical Society, and has held two visiting fellowships at Yale University. She received a CBE in the 2021 Queen’s New Year Honors List.

Shearer has also held a number of international research positions, including chairing the main panel of the Norwegian Humanities Research Assessment Exercise, representing the UK on the Science Europe Humanities Scientific Committee and as a jurist for the Spinoza Prize in the Netherlands and the Odysseus and Solvay Prize in Belgium.

Jonathan Yeo

Reappointed for a 4-year term beginning November 1, 2022.

Jonathan Yeo (born London 1970) is one of the world’s foremost portrait painters and has exhibited widely in the UK and overseas. His role models include figures as diverse as Sir David Attenborough, Malala Yousafzai, Damien Hirst, Grayson Perry, Idris Elba, Nicole Kidman, Baroness Lawrence, Tony Blair and the Duke of Edinburgh. Known for his traditional and experimental portraiture, his work has been the subject of mid-career surveys at the National History Museum of Denmark (2016), the Laing Art Gallery in Newcastle (2014-15), the Lowry in Greater Manchester (2014) and the National Portrait Gallery in London (2013). In 2018, Yeo exhibited a series of works at the Royal Academy of Arts in London, all of which stemmed from new technologies, including the first bronze sculpture made using an innovative combination of processes, including 3D scanning, virtual reality and 3D printing. Other recent projects include collaborations with the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery in Washington DC and the Bowes Museum in County Durham. In 2018, he was named Artist of the Year by GQ Magazine.

Remuneration and Governance Code

The administrators of the National Portrait Gallery are not remunerated. This appointment was made in accordance with the Cabinet Office Governance Code for Public Appointments. The appointment process is governed by the Public Appointments Commissioner. Under the Code, any significant political activity undertaken by an appointee within the past five years must be disclosed. This is defined to include holding office, speaking in public, making a recordable donation, or running for office. Marcus Harling, Professor Shearer West and Jonathan Yeo declared no significant political activity.

Julia P. Cluff