National Portrait Gallery announces presenters and host of Portrait of a Nation Awards 2022 Nov 12

The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery has announced the host and roster of presenters for the 2022 Portrait of a Nation Awards, which will be presented at a celebratory gala on Saturday, November 12 in Washington, DC. The 2022 winners are José Andrés, Clive Davis, Ava DuVernay, Marian Wright Edelman, Anthony S. Fauci, MD, Serena Williams and Venus Williams. The evening will be hosted by Emmy-nominated writer, comedian and host Baratunde Thurston.

Established in 2015, the Portrait of a Nation Awards recognize extraordinary individuals who have made transformative contributions to the United States and its people in all areas of arts and science endeavour. “Portrait of a Nation: 2022 Laureates”, an exhibition featuring the portraits of this year’s seven laureates, will open on the first floor of the museum on November 10 to precede the awards ceremony. The exhibition, which will remain on view until October 22, 2023, will include new commissions from renowned contemporary artists.

The 2022 Portrait of a Nation Awards presenters are:

  • Laurene Powell Jobsfounder and chairman of Emerson Collective, presenting to Jose Andresinternationally renowned humanist, culinary innovator, New York Times bestselling author, educator and founder of World Central Kitchen
  • Alicia’s Keys15-time Grammy Award-winning artist, songwriter, musician, producer and entrepreneur, presenting at Clive DavisGrammy Award-winning music industry executive and member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
  • Isabelle WilkersonPulitzer Prize winner, National Humanities Medal winner and New York Times bestselling author, presenting to Ava DuVernayOscar nominee and Emmy, BAFTA, and Peabody Award-winning filmmaker and founder of ARRAY
  • Hillary Rodham Clintonformer Secretary of State, United States Senator (New York), First Lady of the United States, lawyer and activist, presenting at Marianne Wright Edelmanchildren’s rights activist and founder and chair emeritus of the Children’s Defense Fund
  • David M. Rubensteinco-founder and co-chairman of The Carlyle Group and philanthropist, presenting to Anthony S. Fauci, MDdirector of the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and head of the NIAID Laboratory of Immunoregulation, chief medical adviser to the president, and adviser on global issues related to AIDS and COVID-19
  • Melody Hobsonco-CEO and Chairman of Ariel Investments, presenting to Serena Williamstennis champion, winner of 23 Grand Slam titles and entrepreneur
  • Sonya Haffeyinterior designer and director of V Starr, and Isha Prizeentrepreneur, film producer, philanthropist and CEO of Price Consulting Group LLC, presenting at Venus Williamstennis champion, winner of seven Grand Slam titles, entrepreneur and passionate advocate for equal pay, mental health and physical well-being

“It is important to honor and celebrate people who make a difference and inspire others,” said Kim Sajet, director of the National Portrait Gallery. “The presenters, each of whom has a special relationship with the honorees, help us offer meaningful thanks to this year’s honorees for their significant contributions to our country.”

The National Presidents of the 2022 Portrait of a Nation Gala are Catherine and Michael Podell, Eduardo J. Ardiles and Joseph P. Ujobai, and Lyndon J. Barrois, Sr. and Janine Sherman Barrois. Washington, DC, the chairs are Kristin and John Cecchi and Susanna and Jack Quinn. The founding presidents are Wayne and Catherine Reynolds. Members of the welcoming committee include Robert and Arlene Kogod, David M. Rubenstein, and Patty Stonesifer and Michael Kinsley.

Chevron and General Dynamics are major sponsors of the 2022 Portrait of a Nation Gala. vanity lounge is the exclusive media partner.

The Portrait of a Nation gala supports the first national collection of visual biographies. Proceeds support the Portrait Gallery’s endowment for exhibitions, collections, commissions and educational programs. For more information, visit

National Portrait Gallery

The Smithsonian’s National Portrait Gallery tells the multifaceted history of the United States through the individuals who have shaped American culture. Spanning the visual arts, performing arts and new media, the Portrait Gallery portrays poets and presidents, visionaries and villains, actors and activists whose lives tell the story of the nation.

The National Portrait Gallery is located at Eighth and G Streets NW, Washington, DC Smithsonian Information: (202) 633-1000. Connect with the museum at and on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Note to Editors
Past Laureates and Presenters of the Portrait of a Nation Gala are:

Frances Arnoldpresented by France Cordoba
Jeffrey P. Bezospresented by Preston Bezos
Earth, Wind and Fire (Maurice White [posthumously]Philip Bailey, Verdine White, Ralph Johnson)presented by Clive Davis
Lin-Manuel Mirandapresented by michelle obama
Indra Nooyipresented by Alberto Ibarguen
Anna Wintour
presented by James Cordon

Madeleine K. Albrightpresented by Robert Redford
David D. Ho, MD
presented by Gerald H. Friedland, MD
Bill T. Jonespresented by Glenn Ligon
Spike Leepresented by Patrick Ewing
Rita Morenopresented by Andrea Mitchell

Henry “Hank” Aaronpresented by Congressman John Lewis
Cpl. Charles Charpentierpresented by General Joseph Dunford
Aretha Franklinpresented by Attorney General Eric Holder
Carolina Herrerapresented by Lee Daniels
Maya Linpresented by David Adjaye

# # #


Julia P. Cluff